Gateshead History Pages

Sage Gateshead


The Gateshead pages cover the history of Gateshead and its Borough which was historically part of County Durham to the south of the Tyne. The pages feature central Gateshead and its quays as well as the outer areas of the Borough, exploring the valley of the River Team and lower parts of the River Derwent around Whickham, Swalwell and Blaydon as well as exploring Felling and Heworth to the east, Birtley to the south and of course the Angel of the North.

Newcastle | Gateshead | North Tyneside

South Tyneside | Sunderland

Gateshead History Pages

Gateshead Millennium Bridge

Gateshead Riverside and Centre

St Marys churchyard Gateshead

Gateshead Origins : ‘The Goat’s Head’

Angel of the North

Birtley Low Fell and around the Angel 

Felling Memorial Heworth

Felling and Heworth


Blaydon and Ryton


Whickham and Swalwell

Dunston Staithes and the mouth of the River Team

The River Team and Dunston


Newcastle | Gateshead | North Tyneside

South Tyneside | Sunderland

North East England History and Culture