Yorkshire History Pages

Swaledale Scenery

Yorkshire History

Our Yorkshire history pages primarily focus on North Yorkshire and the City of York. North Yorkshire has three distinct regions – the dales country of the Pennines to the west; the vales of Mowbray and York at its centre stretching all the way from York to the Tees and to the east the North York Moors which stretch to the coastal cliffs of the sea. Most of the rivers make their way to the Humber which forms the southern border of East Yorkshire and was once the boundary of the great Kingdom of Northumbria.

Yorkshire History Pages

About Yorkshire

Catterick, Richmond, Swaledale




Northallerton and Thirsk

Roseberry Topping


The Cleveland Coast at Saltburn

Cleveland Coast

Ormesby Hall, Middlesbrough


Yarm High Street


Harrogate, Knaresborough, Ripon


Skipton and canal

Skipton, Airedale and Ribblesdale

Pickering North Yorkshire


The town of Scarborough

Scarborough area

Whitby and Eskdale

Bootham Bar and York Minster

York : city origins

York Minster

York Streets and Buildings

Leeds Corn Exchange. Town Hall and Thornton Arcade Clock

Leeds and West Yorkshire

Selby Abbey

Selby, Tadcaster, Elmet, Goole

Guildhall, Hull

Hull and the East Riding

Sheffield Town Hall

Sheffield and South Yorkshire



North East England History and Culture